Former Canuck headlines inductees for B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame

Markus Naslund, a former Canucks captain, will be inducted into the B.C. HHoF this weekend

Markus Naslund is one of the inductees for the 2015 B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame.

Markus Naslund is one of the inductees for the 2015 B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame.

Markus Naslund, Curt Fraser, Rob Niedermayer, Cam Kerr and the 1979 B.C. Canada Winter Games champs are the inductees for the 2015 B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame.

Naslund, who finished his pro career with Modo hockey in Sweden after one season with the New York Rangers,  spent 11 full season with the Vancouver Canucks. Naslund is the Canucks’ franchise leader in goals with 346, is third in points with 756 and ranks fifth in games played at 884. Naslund, known as (Nazzy) to fans, has his jersey retired alongside Stan Smyl, Trevor Linden and Pavel Bure. B.C. HHoF executive director Bruce Judd said that Naslund won’t be able to attend the ceremony for family reasons.

Niedermayer, born in Cassiar, B.C., and raised in Cranbrook, played three seasons with Medicine Hat and was drafted by Florida in 1993. He played 17 seasons in the NHL and won the Stanley Cup with Anaheim in 2007 with brother Scott. He was a member of Canada’s gold medal-winning team at the 2004 World Hockey Championships, now retired where it all started in Cranbrook.

Fraser played his minor hockey at the NS Winter Club before embarking on a junior career with the BC junior Kelowna Buckaroos and the WHL Victoria Cougars. He was selected 22nd overall in the 1978 NHL draft by Vancouver, where he played five seasons and suited up for 704 NHL games before retiring as a player and turning to coaching in the professional ranks for 22 seasons. He is an assistant coach with the Dallas Stars.

Kerr has been involved in BC Hockey for more than 40 years. Playing junior with the WHL Saskatoon Blades, he then joined the UBC Thunderbirds before focusing on a career of hockey development. Kerr was a founding member of the BC Hockey High Performance program, he also coached minor hockey and on the international level with national programs.

Team BC won the 1979 Canada Winter Games  with 19 junior B players. Team BC won six straight games at the Canada Winter Games in Brandon, Man. including a 6-0 win over Nova Scotia in the gold medal game. It was B.C.’s first ever gold at the games. The ceremony is July 25 at the South Okanagan Events Centre at 7 p.m.

Tickets available to be purchased at 414 Ellis St.


Penticton Western News