Abbotsford Middle School Sevens tournament crowns champions

Hundreds participate in annual event at Fraser and Yale schools

W.A. Fraser Falcons players show off their trophy at the ARFC Middle School Sevens tournament.

W.A. Fraser Falcons players show off their trophy at the ARFC Middle School Sevens tournament.

Hundreds of local kids took to the rugby pitch at the annual Abbotsford Rugby Football Club Middle School Sevens tournament at W.A. Fraser and Yale schools on April 22.

Teams of Grade 7 and Grade 8 boys and girls took to the field to battle for division titles in half-field rugby seven action.

Clayburn Middle School won the Grade 8 girls division, Fraser won for Grade 8 boys, Yorkson Creek Middle School won for Grade 7 girls and H.D. Stafford Middle School won for Grade 7 boys.

“The ARFC was thrilled to see over 300 Grade 7 and 8 boys and girls on 30 different teams take to the field,” said Fraser athletic director Ryan McWhinney. “Thanks to all the coaches, players and volunteers who made it a great event.”

Final standings and team most valuable players included:

Grade 8 Boys:

1. Fraser Black

2. Stafford

3. Clayburn

4. Chief Dan White

5. Abby

6. Fraser Gold

7. Fraser Red

8. Chief Dan Red

9. Stafford White

10. Reimer

11. Fraser White

12. Clayburn White


8 Girls

1. Clayburn

2. Fraser Red

3. Howe White

4. Howe Black

5. Chief Dan

6. Yorkson

7. Abby

8. Fraser Black


7 Boys

1. Stafford

2. Fraser (ARFC City Trophy)

3. Abby

4. Yorkson

5. Fraser Red

6. Chief Dan


7 Girls

1. Yorkson

2. Fraser (ARFC City Trophy)

3. Howe

4. Abby




Grade 8 Boys

Fraser Black – Griffin Chhina

Stafford 2 – Ayden Holloway

Reimer – Ravdeep Toor

Chief White – Jackey Kuang

Fraser White – Austin Moar

Clayburn Blue – Ben Alafriz

Fraser Gold – Daygen Guidone

Abby – William Taggert

Stafford – Andrew Fassbender

Chief Red – Kaelen Grell

Fraser Red – Levi St. Jean

Clayburn White – Tyler McLaughlin


Grade 8 Girls

Abby – Maizie McIntosh

Fraser Red – Kate Hotner

Howe Blue – Charisma Trolland

Yorkson – Dianna Yang

Chief Dan – Makenna Gayger

Clayburn – Lauren Paller

Fraser Black – Megan McGeorge

Howe White – Jazleen Grewal


Grade 7 Girls

Abby – Gunika Bajaj

Fraser – Cassie Hull

Howe – Veena Badhon

Yorkson – Pawsahay Moo


Grade 7 Boys

Fraser Red – Josh Fox

Stafford – Xach Romanchuk

Abby – Jesse Davis

Fraser Black – Byron Beytell-Johnson

Chief – Nick Middleton

Yorkson – Dylan King

Abbotsford News