From top left: Justin Trudeau (Liberal), Jagmeet Singh (NDP), Erin O'Toole (Conservative).

CANADA VOTES: Polls now closed in country’s 2021 federal snap election

Which party will be chosen to form the next government?

  • Sep. 20, 2021 12:00 a.m.

A new federal government is expected to be named Monday night, as Canada’s 2021 snap election gets underway.

The main parties vying for the 338 seats in the House of Commons are Justin Trudeau’s Liberals, Erin O’Toole’s Conservatives, Jagmeet Singh’s New Democrats, Annamie Paul’s Greens., Yves-François Blanchet’s Bloc Quebecois and Maxime Bernier’s People’s Party of Canada.

Polls closed at 7 p.m. PST. Results will be posted as they become available.

Who is running in Courtenay-Alberni?

Barbara Biley — Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada

Robert Eppich — People’s Party of Canada

Susan Farlinger — Liberal Party

Gord Johns — NDP

Susanne Lawson — Green Party

Mary Lee — Conservative Party

Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results.

Tofino-Ucluelet Westerly News